Art Pop ft XPayne “I want my work to represent a leap of faith”

Last night I was scrolling through Instagram and came across an amazing illustration from a scene in “Martin.” Upon further investigation I found Mr. Xavier Payne’s tumbler. His work immediately took me back to my childhood with his recreations of “Living Single,” “House Party,” “Do the Right Thing,” and “Poetic Justice.” These pieces are apart of a series he calls” Black Pop.” You will find stuff that is a part of Black Popular Culture, typically from the last 20 years. I just started out doing stuff that appealed to me though” says XavierThe Tennessee native knew he wanted to be an artist since the tender age of 3.” It wasn’t until I was in high school that I learned what kind of artist I wanted to be, and decided to start down the path of design and illustration.” He currently resides in Nashville, Tenn. and attends Watkins College of Art Design and Film. However his work is available  for sale on his website. “Leaders of the News School” is my favorite series which features J. Cole, Kendrick Lamar, Kid  Cudi, Asap Rocky and many other notables. I’m a huge fan of his work and I’m so happy to have found his pieces. Check out his work on  tumbler, Instagram, his website, and below.

tumblr_my9kwohcDv1qe5xfko1_400

houseparty-2tumblr_mqplsl4tYw1qe5xfko1_400tumblr_mpmdwtjDAp1qe5xfko1_400tumblr_msnqqm8qyt1qe5xfko1_400tumblr_mr6sv3plKw1qe5xfko1_r1_400tumblr_mrdtjaH74b1qe5xfko1_400

Leave a Reply

